2012, It’s My Year!

Realizing this the first post of the year.  This year is turning out totally different than originally planned.  Actually, the original plan was pretty empty.  I had one race planned, but figured I might add a few little races here and there just for fun.  I would continue going to the gym and then this summer I’d add in pool time with my son after my gym classes.  Let’s just say those little races have turned into bigger more complicated races that require training.  2012 is becoming the year of checking things off of my “Want To Do” list and checking a couple off my “Never Thought I’d Do” list.

I had planned on running my first Half Marathon this year without much training.  My best friend seemed to have different plans for me.  With about 5 weeks to go before the race, she put me on a training plan.  She had me running a few days of shorter miles and then one long run a week.  Sadly to say, this non-runner I am/was began to think of 3 miles as an easy short run.  Come race day I was fully prepared and ran a great time (in my opinion).  I ran the Rock ‘n’ Roll USA Half Marathon in DC with a time of 2:16.  It was a very fun race and I got to meet up with a few fun online friends.

First Half Marathon Medal

I Finished 13.1 Miles!

While I was training for the Half Marathon, I ran across some other races which sounded fun.  I signed up for an indoor triathlon at my gym (Lifetime Fitness).  This will be the second time I have done the race.  You swim for 10 minutes, spin for 30 minutes, and run on the treadmill for 20 minutes.  Results are based on total distance covered.  I also signed up for a sprint triathlon and my biggest surprise sign up is for the Marine Corp Marathon.  Thankfully my best friend is doing the same type of races where she lives so we will be training together for these.  She’s the seasoned runner so she’ll be preparing the running plans.  I’m a long time swimmer so I’ll be preparing the swim plans.  As for the cycling, we are working together to come up with what we need to do.

I currently have one small glitch which is putting a slight damper on my training, I managed to hurt my foot the week before my Half Marathon.  I ignored the pain and ran anyway.  I had put too much time and training into the race to not actually run it.  I went to the doctor the following week and he’s thinking an injured tendon though it could be something like a bruised bone. Either way, I’m in a boot.  Hopefully for not much longer.  It’s not stopping me.  I can still do weights and swim.  I swim without kicking so my upper body is getting a great workout.

The Boot

Here are 2 of my training areas.  My pool at the gym and my indoor bike trainer and weights in my basement.

My Pool

Ready to Swim Some Laps

Bike, Indoor Trainer, and Weights

Aside from the physical training, I’m continuing to eat as I need to for fueling my body.  The body won’t go without the proper fuel.

The only way I’m going to fail is if I give up trying.  That’s not going to happen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2012, It’s My Year!

  1. Love it and you are doing amazing!! Looking strong and beautiful!! Can’t wait to hear more of your amazing year to come!!

  2. It was so great meeting you in person Amy!!!! I am so bummed we forgot to take a picture together after the race. Doh!
    And congrats on completing your first half! And a full marathon in the fall??? I don’t believe it!
    I am sorry you are in a boot but rest it up and you’ll be back in no time!
    ~Ang

  3. Vicki M. says:

    Amy, I see you Facebook a lot, but you haven’t posted on here for a while, hope everythign is going well.

Leave a Reply

